Kingdom Noise Apprenticeship


MODULE 3 || STAGE 3 by seancooper
October 31, 2008, 2:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I know all our apprentice participants are not American, but this is just a little reminder to please pray:)

As for the reading and discussion, this last week was very insightful and I loved the conversation around the Hausa riddles and how to apply to our own cultural setting. This is the last week for this book, so dig-in and we’ll wrap this module up. Thanks for all your insights…

What did you find most fascinating about the Hausa traditions?

In what ways can you correlate the Hausa culture with your own?
Can you identify any connections to this week’s reading with Old or New Testament stories?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would be WAY confused if was working with the Hausa people and would be worried that I would offend someone by saying how nice the weather is because that some how is a epithet which means I hate your mother. Its also interesting how much symbolism can be used in just a few words that will hold a greater meaning.
It makes me think of when adults try and say words such a “Tight” “Yo Dawg” “For Rizzle” and it totally doesn’t come off right because they are old. I know this is a stretch but when a younger person or snoop dogg says things like that it doesn’t come across as weird.
I think with the New Testament writers of the Gospels they fill the pages with words that have such a greater meaning that what is just written on the page. They are relating certain words with events that will trigger a memory or a symbol that had a greater meaning that will give the reader more insight. Like the Hausa tribe speaking in fables, and epithets to give more meaning and insight to the people, many stories in the bible have the same kind of style. Which is why the Bible is so cool because you learn so much just reading what is written and then you dig deeper into the meaning and continue to learn more and more.

Comment by laurenberlin

I feel like I don’t understand the Hausa traditions at all after reading these sections in the book. But, in a way it reminds me of some things that different groups of people do or have done in the American culture. In the deep south, you will hear phrases or words that most people have never heard of unless you grew up there and learned from that specific culture, or group of people, or family. Same with listening to a certain type of music like Rap. You will only hear certain phrases or words in that music that pretty much stays within that genre of music or within that type of person that listens to that music. Now that I think about it, it can also be compared to the church and how we have certain words that “christian people” will understand but the average “outsider” will have no clue what we are talking about unless we streamlined it and used basic verbage.

Comment by laurenmclaughlin0

As I´m reading now the questions I feel like I read the wrong pages. But I´ll still try to answer them. What I find most fascinating about the Hausa traditions is the sometimes funny way the epithets describe words. But at the other side was I sometimes grossed out to, I don´t want to mention any example. It made finally sense to me when I red the conclusion at the end. Where Kraft explains that most of the epithets are negative so that people don´t try to be negatively in order to don´t get such a word as a nickname. Who likes to have a bad nickname?? Me not! And you neither, or?!

What seems to be important to me in Hausa culture is work ethics. And also that it is more worthy to have a job where you actually work with your hands then with your brain. For example is a teacher a worthless person with a big turban. You still find this in our German culture. Best example is my dad, he would love for me to open my own carpenter shop where I do solid work. But I want to be a pastor, this is really hard for him to accept. And teachers here are also called lazy people. It´s interesting to me to see this even in an African culture, my stereotypes of Africans again proved to be wrong.

Comment by andibinder




Leave a Reply

